If you want to learn more about the sturgeon, then it is always a great idea to learn about the various species of sturgeon. Not only this will help you to gain valuable information about the fish but you will also be able to differentiate between types of sturgeon. Mentioned below are the various species.

Sturgeon has different sub-families

Sturgeons belong to a common family called as Acipenseridae which is further sub-divided into different sub-families.

  • Acipenserinae- Genera Acipenser and Huso
  • Scaphirhynchinae- Genera Scaphirhynchus and Pseudosaphirhynchus
  • Polydontidae(Paddlefishes)- Polydon and Psephurus

Sturgeon Fish

The above mentioned six sub-families have different species. We are going to discuss about them one after another in detail.

1. Acipenserinae has two sub-families Genera Acipenser and Huso

Genera Acipenser-This sub-family has 18 species and those are mentioned below:

  • Acipenser baerii
  • Acipenser brevirostrum
  • Acipenser dabryanus
  • Acipenser fulvenscens
  • Acipenser gueldenstaedtii
  • Acipenser medirostris
  • Acipenser mikadoi
  • Acipenser naccarii
  • Acipenser nudiventris
  • Acipenser oxyrinchus desotoi
  • Acipenser oxyrinchus oxyrinchus
  • Acipenser persicus
  • Acipenser ruthenus
  • Acipenser schrenckii
  • Acipenser sinensis
  • Acipenser stellatus
  • Acipenser sturio
  • Acipenser transmontanus

Huso– This sub-family has only two species and those are:

  • Huso dauricus
  • Huso huso

2. Scaphirhynchinae has sub-families Genera Scaphirhynchus and Pseudosaphirhynchus

Genera Scaphirhynchus– This sub-family has 3 species and those are:

  • Scaphirhynchus albus
  • Scaphirhynchus suttkusi
  • Scaphirhynchus platorynchus

Pseudosaphirhynchus This sub-family also has 3 species and those are:

  • Pseudosaphirhynchus fedtschenkoi
  • Pseudosaphirhynchus hermanni
  • Pseudosaphirhynchus kaufmanni


3. Polydontidae(Paddlefishes) also has two sub-families Polydon and Psephurus

Polydon– Polydon has only one species and that is Polydon spathula

Psephurus– Psephusus also has only one species and that is Psephurus gladius

Something more about sturgeon species

  • Adriatic sturgeon– The Adriatic sturgeon is a thick fish and grows up to 1.5 to 2 meters. The recorded age for this species is about 50 years and it normally weighs up to 25 kg.
  • Diamond sturgeon– The Diamond sturgeon is one of the most popular sturgeon species and can grow up to 2.3 meter in length. This fish has a beautiful grey and white pattern over its skin.
  • Beluga sturgeon– If you can easily afford high food bill then you should go for Beluga sturgeon. This fish is one of the largest growing sturgeon species.
  • Paddlefish-The Paddlefish is very rare and is required to be handled in a special and delicate way. It is good to keep this species in clear and filtered water for better survival rate
  • Shovelnose sturgeon– The Shovelnose sturgeon is small in length as it grows up to 1 meter and the maximum weight recorded for this species is only 4.5 kg.
  • Siberian sturgeon– The Siberian sturgeon is easier to breed and this is the reason it is one of the most common species put up for sale.

Siberian Sturgeon

  • Stellate sturgeon– You must install a net or some sort of barrier around the pond when you have Stellate sturgeon inside. This species is the most flexible one and can easily jump out of the pond.
  • Sterlet– The Sterlet grows slowly and its length reaches up to a maximum of 60cm.
  • White sturgeon– The White sturgeon is mostly found in Canada, West Coast of North America and Alaska.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *